FR   EN   DE  

Schedule February-March 2014

27 28 1 2
3 4 5 6 7 8 9


Home / Programme / Guests


  • Ani Simon-Kennedy

    Ani Simon-Kennedy - Director

    Born in New York, Ani Simon-Kennedy was raised in Paris in a bilingual family. Graduating from New York University in 2008, she started working on both independent and studio films in New York and in Paris. In 2010, she attended the Masters Year Program at the Prague Film School in the Czech Republic. Her short film ''Sea Full of Hooks'' was selected for the 2011 Cannes Film Festival’s Short Film Corner and was screened at the Center for Performance Research in Brooklyn. During her year at the Prague Film School, Ani Simon-Kennedy collaborated on several films with cinematographer Cailin Yatsko. In 2011,  Ani Simon-Kennedy and Yatsko founded Bicephaly Pictures, a production company based in NYC, that specializes in short narratives, fashion films, music videos and web series. ''Days of Gray'' is their first feature film.

    Days of Gray

  • Cailin Yatsko

    Cailin Yatsko - Producer

    Cailin Yatsko is a cinematographer currently based in New York City. After growing up in Arkansas, she attended school in Michigan and the Czech Republic.  In 2011, she created Bicephaly Pictures, a NYC production company, with director Ani Simon-Kennedy.  "Days of Gray", a dystopian coming-of-age story, is her first feature film both as director of photography and producer.

    Days of Gray

  • Daniel Patrick Carbone

    Daniel Patrick Carbone - Director

    Born in New Jersey in the USA in 1984, Daniel Patrick Carbone is a graduate of New York University’s Tisch School of the Arts, currently residing in Brooklyn, NYC. In 2008, he received the Warner Bros. Film Award and multiple NYU First Run Film Festival awards for his short, "Feral“. In 2012, he was selected for the IFP Narrative Labs, Emerging Visions program, and the New York Film Festival’s Artists Academy for his debut feature film, "Hide Your Smiling Faces“. The film took the top prize at the US-in-Progress section of the American Film Festival in Wroclaw, Poland and had its world premiere at the Berlin International Film Festival in 2013. 

  • Eddy la Gooyatsh et Alex Toucourt

    Ukulele Machin Truc Orchester - Musicians

    Since the Royal Hawaiian Quartet surprised its audience at a concert in San Francisco by introducing the ukulele (this was in 1915), the instrument has made a reputation for itself as it was put to use by Mickey Mouse and Marylyn Monroe. Fascinated by Andy Iona and the Hawaiian songs of the 1930s but  equally seduced by jazz standards  and Cuban music, the two crooners in flower shirts, Eddy la Gooyatsh et Alex Toucourt,  created the Ukulele Machin Truc Orchester in order to perform the soft and languorous melodies from Polynesia in their own way.

    Present at the opening night 28 /02

  • Fernand Fox

    Fernand Fox - Actor

    Fernand Fox is a Luxembourgish actor, who was born on 26 January in 1934 in Bollendorf-Pont. After finishing school, he began working as an accountant. In the evenings, he lived a life of greater freedom in the more liberal-minded world of theater where he did not have to hide his homosexuality. In 1956 he was on stage for the first time. For ten years he was a member of the "Lëtzebuerger Theater" (1959-1969) and later the “Théâtre des Casemates” (1972-1989). In 1968 he began starring   in sketch comedies for the Luxembourgish TV show“Hei Elei Kuck Elei”. Many Luxembourgers also remember him for the  "La Luxembourgeoise" commercials. In the early 1980s he opened the cafe "Theaterstuff" where he worked until retirement, while regularly acting with the “Théâtre des Capucins” (1987-2005), the "TOL" and the “Théâtre du Centaure”. In 2011, he was on stage the  last time reading Shakespeare's "King Lear". Fernand Fox also worked for the cinema, appearing amongst others in several RTL produced movies, some films by Andy Bausch and a few short movies. 

  • Fridrik Thor Fridriksson

    Fridrik Thor Fridriksson - Producer

    Fridrik Thor Fridriksson started his film making career with a series of experimental films and documentaries in the early 1980s. In 1987, he founded The Icelandic Film Corporation, which became for a time Iceland's most important production company. As a director, Fridriksson gained international recognition and critical acclaim with his second feature ”Children of Nature” (1991) which was nominated for an Oscar as Best Foreign Language Film. Fridriksson's films have a strong rooting in Icelandic culture often depicting characters at the crossroads of tradition and modernity. 

  • Hjaltalín

    Hjaltalín - Musicians

    Hjaltalín is an Icelandic group that was founded in 2004, when a handful of high school students decided to take part in a songwriting competition. After the success of the song "Goodbye July/Margt að ugga" on the Icelandic radio, the group went to the studio and recorded their debut album, "Sleepdrunk Seasons". Its release in late 2007 sparked nationwide attention and awards. At the same time, the group began to play abroad and the year of 2009 was largely spent on tours all around Europe. In the autumn of 2012, the group made the score to the silent movie "Days of Gray", which will receive its international premiere in 2013. Hjaltalín has now completed their third album, "Enter 4", which was released in Iceland in December, 2012.

    On 6/03 from 20h at the Abbey Neumünster

  • Jean Regnaud

    Jean Regnaud - Screenwriter for animation films

    Jean Regnaud writes screenplays for animation films. He has worked for numerous television series (The Little Vampire, Mouk, Ariol, etc.). Together with Stéphane Bernasconi he is the co-author of the screenplay of "Ma maman est en Amérique". In addition, he also writes comic books (with Emile Bravo, he has already published 5) and children's books (with Aude Picault).

  • Jones

    Jones - Directors

    Jones is a two-person collective from London. ‘’Everyone's Going to Die’’ is their first feature. Their next project is titled ‘’Firebird’’ and it has 'some tonal similarities with this film. It’s a story about a circus performer who loses an eye and then finds out nobody likes him,' according to Jones.

  • Jordan Bailey-Hoover

    Jordan Bailey-Hoover - Co-producer

    Jordan Bailey-Hoover was raised in Atlanta, GA and moved to New York in 2004. She graduated from the Gallatin School of Individualized Studies at New York University in 2007. While at NYU, she assisted on Daniel Patrick Carbone’s thesis film, Feral. From 2007-2009, she worked in advocacy and public programming for an international human rights organization in New York. In 2009, she was unit production manager on A Little Closer, which had its international premiere at the 2011 International Film Festival Rotterdam. Since 2011, she has worked in a variety of roles for New York University, both in Abu Dhabi and in New York. Jordan is also currently pursuing a Master of Public Administration in Public and Nonprofit Management at the Robert F. Wagner School of Public Service at NYU. She lives in Brooklyn.

  • Luc Dardenne

    Since 1975, Luc and his brother Jean-Pierre Dardenne have produced some 60 documentaries with their production workshop Dérives. In the 1970s, they shot activist videos in several workers’ housing tracts in Wallonia and later they directed documentaries about social issues. In the 1990, they moved on to fiction films and founded the production company Les Films du Fleuve. They won recognition in 1995 in Cannes at La Quinzaine des Réalisateurs with “The Promise”. In 1999 and 2005, « Rosetta » and « L’enfant » both won the Palme d’Or. Their latest film “The Kid With a Bike” received the Grand Jury Award in Cannes, the European Film Award for best screenplay and a nomination at the Golden Globes. Luc Dardenne runs a writing workshop at the Université libre in Brussels and has published two books: “Au dos de nos images” and “Sur l’Affaire humaine”. 

    Luc Dardenne will honor us with a MASTERCLASS on 1st March. 

  • Mariana Rondón

    Mariana Rondón - Director

    Director, screenwriter and visual artist Mariana Rondón was born in Barquisimeto, Venezuela. After studying Animated Film in Paris, she graduated from the Cuban Film School EICTV. Her films “At Midnight And A Half” (1999, codirected by Marité Ugás) and “Postcards From Leningrad” (2007) participated in many international festivals and received numerous awards in Tokyo, Rotterdam, Seattle, Biarritz and Sao Paulo amongst others.  In Plastic Arts, her installation “You Came With the Breeze” was exhibited in Caracas, México City, Puebla, Gijón, Lima, Santiago, and in Beijing as part of the Olympics Cultural Project, 2008. 

  • Marianne Lamour

    Marianne Lamour - Director

    Marianne Lamour films  the end of the world as well as the corner of the street. Throughout her career she has portrayed, with benevolence and sensibility, lives, places, and social phenomena. Some of her films have taken her around the world; more intimate works, dealing with daily life, brought her to the fashion world, amongst the victims of traumatic brain injury  and to Lorraine at the time of the closure of the last iron mine.

    The Art Rush

  • Marité Ugás

    Marité Ugás - Producer

    Born in Lima, Peru, Marité Ugas graduated at the first generation of EICTV (Escuela Internacional de Cine y Televisión), Cuba. Her first short films were awarded worldwide. AT MIDNIGHT AND A HALF (2000), received several Opera Prima Awards. THE KID WHO LIES, (2011) was premiered at Berlinale-Generation and received international awards. She is now preparing her new project entitled “CONTACTEE”, to be shot in 2015. As a producer, her most recent release was PELO MALO. (Golden Shell San Sebastián and 15 more international awards)

  • Michel Gondry

    Michel Gondry - Director

    Film director Michel Gondry was born in 1963 in Versailles, France. He started his career with commercials and music videos. One of his first commercials, Levis' "Drugstore" (1994), garnered the Lion D'Or at the International Festival of Creativity in Cannes and is listed in the Guinness Book of World Records as the most award-winning commercial of all time. In 1993 Gondry met pop singer Björk, commencing one of his longest and most successful professional creative relationships, while also collaborating with such wide-ranging artists as The White Stripes, The Rolling Stones, Beck, Daft Punk, Chemical Brothers and Paul McCartney. “Human Nature” (2001), Gondry's first film, premiered at Cannes and Sundance. 2004 marked the release of Gondry's much-lauded “Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind”. This was the second collaboration between Gondry and writer Charlie Kaufman. Together with cowriter Pierre Bismuth they won the Academy Award for Best Original Screenplay. Since then, Gondry has directed several feature films: “The science of Sleep” (2006); “Be Kind Rewind” (2008); “The Green Hornet” (2011) and  ”The We and the I “(2012). Adapted from Boris Vian’s novel “Froth on the Daydream”, his latest film “Mood Indigo“(L’Ecume des jours) has just received three nominations at the César Awards 2014. 

  • Pacho Velez

    Pacho Velez - Director

    Pacho Velez's filmmaking sits at the intersection of ethnography, structuralism, and political documentary. His films, though shot in different countries and using distinct formal strategies, each share a preoccupation with local responses to the broad changes wrought by globalization. 

    In 2010, Pacho completed his MFA at CalArts.  He now works and teaches between New York and Boston. He is a visiting professor at Bard College, a fellow at the Harvard Film Study Center and an affiliate of the Sensory Ethnography Lab. His new film, MANAKAMANA (co-directed with Stephanie Spray, produced by Lucien Castaing-Taylor and Véréna Paravel) premiered this summer and won a Golden Leopard at the Locarno Film Festival.  His previous film and theater work have been featured worldwide.

  • Philippe Maynial

    Philippe Maynial - Producer

    After spending 21 years at Gaumont, including 10 years as a Director of International Sales, Philippe Maynial founded the company Sopadin. At the same time he created the Sopadin Award for Best Screenplay. Through  "Babylone Productions", he co-produced two films: "El Gusto" (2012) by Safinez Bousbia tells the story of an Algerian band that was separated during the War of Independence and got together again through music 50 years later and  Marianne Lamours’ "The Art Rush" (2013) deals with the globalized contemporary art market.

    The Art Rush

  • Pierre Dulaine

    Pierre Dulaine - Main character

    Pierre Dulaine was born in Jaffa, Palestine in 1944. In 1948 his parents had to flee the troubles leaving their home behind for the creation of the state of Israel. After 8 months of wandering around first in Cyprus, then in England and Ireland, Pierre’s family settled in Amman, Jordan. In 1956, because of the problems in Egypt and the Suez Canal, Pierre’s parents had to flee yet again, leaving everything behind. The family resettled in Birmingham, England, where one year later at the age of 14, Pierre began his dancing career. By the time Pierre was 18 he took his Associate Degree as a professional dancer. And at 21, he took his three major exams in Ballroom, Latin and Olde Tyme all in one day, a feat that had not been accomplished before. Finally, Pierre signed on as a cruise director on a ship sailing out of New York City to the Caribbean Islands. In 1972, “I got off of the cruise ship thinking I would be in New York City for a two-week holiday but I got a job at an Arthur Murray dance studio and I have been in New York ever since.” Pierre has been called a “Dancer and Teacher extraordinaire" by the New York Times and has received the Astaire Award for "Best Dancing on Broadway" in Grand Hotel. He has been a faculty member of both the School of American Ballet and the Juilliard School.

  • Rotem Kainan

    Born in 1979 in Tel Aviv, Israel, Rotem Kainan graduated from the Nissan Nativ Acting Academy in Tel Aviv in 2005.He is a member and co-founder of the “Tziporela”-theatre ensemble, mixing slapstick, nonsense, music and choreography in their  wildly acclaimed hilarious shows..So far he appeared in three feature films  “Big Bad Wolves”(2013), “Epilogue”(2012) and The Exchange” (2011) for which he was awarded  Best Acting Performance at the Haifa International Film Festival.

  • Serge Kaganski

    Serge Kaganski - Journalist

    After dedicating his youth to movies and rock’n’ roll Serge Kaganski studied Public Law and Political Science. In 1986, he co-founded the magazine "Les Inrockuptibles", for which he worked from 1986-90 as a correspondent in Los Angeles. Back in Paris, he wrote for the same magazine  on the subjects of cinema and literature. When "Les Inrockuptibles" changed to weekly, he became associate editor and later deputy director, in charge of cinema. At the same time, he appeared from 1995 to 2004 on the radio show "Le masque et la plume" (France-Inter) and the tv-shows "Le Cercle de Minuit " (France 2),  . "Rive droite, rive gauche" and "Balance à Paris " (Paris Première) as well as " Cinémas " (France5) . Kaganski is the author of several books about cinema and has made DVD bonus content for  numerous films by Gus van Sant, Jacques Doillon, Michael Moore, Elia Suleiman, Pedro Costa and Marin Karmitz. Since 2009, Serge Kaganski is a member of the editorial committee of "Les Inrocks " and also continues working as an editor , columnist, journalist and film critic.

     Serge Kaganski will present Luc Dardenne's Masterclass

  • Stephan Lacant

    Stephan Lacant - Director

    Born in Essen in Germany in 1972, Stephan Lacant grew up in the Ruhr region. He studied theatre, film and television in Bochum and Cologne and later directing at the Stella Adler Acting Conservatory in New York and at the NY Film Academy. He has also participated in a Frank Daniel screenwriting seminar, a directing seminar with Judith Weston, the International Filmschule (IFS) screenwriting programs in Cologne and, in 2003, the Berlinale Talent Campus. His short and documentary films have screened at various international festivals. He currently lives and works as a screenwriter and director in Berlin.

  • Uzi Geffenblad

    Uzi Geffenblad - Director

    Uzi Geffenblad is a musician, composer, screenwriter, director and producer. He also studied Psychology and Children’s Culture at the Stockholm University. In the early 80’s he worked as a classical French horn player in orchestras and theaters. Since 1988 he has been working with films and since 1991 mainly animated films. From 1998-2001 Uzi was Chairman of FFAF (The Swedish Association for Animated Films). He’s occasionally lecturing about screenwriting, sound and production of animated films in various schools in Sweden. Together with Lotta Geffenblad he has directed the 46 minutes cut-out film ”Among the thorns”, the short animations ”Apricots” and ”Aston’s Stones” and the current stop-motion series ”Spot and Splodge”.


Le gouvernement du Grand Duché du Luxembourg Ville de Luxembourg Centre National de l'Audiovisuel Cinematheque Utopia Utopolis Orange BGL

FR   EN   DE  

Calendrier février-mars 2014

L M M J V S D
27 28 1 2
3 4 5 6 7 8 9

Newsletter

Home / Programmation / Invités

Invités

  • Ani Simon-Kennedy

    Ani Simon-Kennedy - Réalisatrice

    Née à New York, Ani Simon-Kennedy grandit à Paris dans une famille bilingue. Diplômée de l'Université de New York en 2008, elle commence à travailler aussi bien pour les majors que sur des productions indépendantes à New York et à Paris. En 2010, elle suit un master à l'école de cinéma de Prague. Son court-métrage « Sea Full of Hooks » a été sélectionné pour le Short Film Corner au Festival de Cannes en 2011 et  projeté au Center for Performance Research à Brooklyn. Au cours de ses études à Prague, Ani Simon-Kennedy a collaboré plusieurs fois avec la directrice de la photo Cailin Yatsko. En 2011, elles ont fondé ensemble Bicephaly Pictures, une société de production basée à New York et spécialisée dans les courts-métrages, les films sur la mode, les clips et les séries web. « Days of Gray » est leur premier long métrage.

    Days of Gray

  • Cailin Yatsko

    Cailin Yatsko - Productrice

    Cailin Yatsko est une cinéaste actuellement basée à New York. Après avoir grandi en Arkansas, elle a fait ses études de cinéma au Michigan et dans la République tchèque. En 2011, elle a créé avec la réalisatrice Ani Simon-Kennedy Bicephaly Pictures, une société de production installée à New York. « Days of Gray », une histoire d’adolescents dystopique, est son premier long métrage, pour lequel elle a été à la fois directrice de la photographie et productrice.

    Days of Gray

  • Daniel Patrick Carbone

    Daniel Patrick Carbone - Réalisateur

    Daniel Patrick Carbone est diplômé de l’Université Tisch School of the Arts à New York et réside actuellement à Brooklyn, New York. En 2008, il a reçu le Prix du Cinéma de Warner Bros. ainsi que de nombreuses autres récompenses pour son court-métrage « Feral ». En 2012, il a été sélectionné pour  « l‘IFP Narrative Labs, Emerging Visions program, and the New York Film Festival’s Artists Academy pour ce premier long métrage. Ce dernier a reçu le premier prix dans la section US-en-progrès du Festival du Cinéma Américain à Wroclaw, en Pologne. Le film a été présenté en première mondiale au Festival International du film de Berlin en 2013.

  • Eddy la Gooyatsh et Alex Toucourt

    Ukulélé Machin Truc Orchestra - Musiciens
    Depuis que le Royal Hawaiian Quartet a surpris son public lors d’un concert à San Francisco en introduisant le ukulélé (c’était en 1915), l’instrument a connu une notoriété qui est passée par Mickey et Marylin Monroe. Passionnés d’Andy Iona et de la chanson hawaïenne des années 30, des standards de jazz et de musique cubaine,  les deux crooners en chemises à fleurs, Eddy la Gooyatsh et Alex Toucourt, ont créé le Ukulélé Machin Truc Orchestra pour assouvir leur soif d’interpréter à leur façon les douces et langoureuses mélopées polynésiennes.


    Présents à la soirée d'ouverture le 28 /02

  • Fernand Fox

    Fernand Fox - Acteur

    L’acteur luxembourgeois Fernand Fox est né le 26 janvier 1934 à Bollendorf-Pont. Après le lycée, il devient comptable. Le soir, il se défoule dans le milieu plus tolérant du théâtre où il n’a pas besoin de cacher son homosexualité. En 1956, il est sur scène la première fois. Pendant 10 ans, il est membre du Lëtzebuerger Theater (1959-1969), puis du Théâtre des Casemates (1972-1989). En 1968, il commence à interpréter des sketches pour l’émission de télévision Hei Elei Kuck Elei. Beaucoup de Luxembourgeois se souviennent également de son apparition dans les publicités pour les assurances La Luxembourgeoise. En 1981, Fernand Fox ouvre le café Theaterstuff où il travaillera jusqu’à sa retraite, en 1990 tout en participant aux productions d’ensembles différents, comme celles du Théâtre des Ca­pucins, du TOL ou encore du Théâtre du Centaure. En 2011, il remonte une dernière fois sur la scène du Théâtre des Casemates pour une lecture scénique dans le rôle du fou du roi dans King Lear. Au cinéma, on l’a vu notamment dans plusieurs films de RTL, ceux d’Andy Bausch ou encore des courts métrages. 

  • Fridrik Thor Fridriksson

    Fridrik Thor Fridriksson - Producteur

    Fridrik Thor Fridriksson a commencé sa carrière dans les années 1980 avec des films expérimentaux et des documentaires. En 1987, il fonde The Icelandic Film Corporation, qui fut longtemps la société de production la plus importante d’Islande. En tant que réalisateur, Fridriksson s’est forgé une renommée internationale avec son deuxième long métrage « Children of nature » (1991), qui fut nommé pour l'Oscar du meilleur film étranger. Le cinéma de Fridriksson plonge ses racines dans la culture islandaise et raconte souvent des histoires de personnages entre tradition et modernité. 

  • Hjaltalín

    Hjaltalín - musiciens

    Hjaltalín est un groupe islandais créé en 2004 lorsqu’une poignée de lycéens décide de participer à un concours de composition. Après le succès de la chanson « Goodbye July »  (« Margt að ugga ») diffusée sur la radio islandaise, le groupe enregistre son premier album en studio : « Sleepdrunk Season ». La sortie de l’album à la fin de l’année 2007 suscite l’attention nationale et les récompenses. Au même moment, le groupe commence à se produire à l’étranger et l’année 2009 se déroule principalement sur des tournées dans l’Europe entière. À l’automne 2012, le groupe marque encore des points avec le film silencieux « Days of Gray », qui reçoit sa première internationale en 2013. Hjaltalín a maintenant réalisé son troisième album « Enter 4 », sorti en Islande en décembre 2012.


    Présents le 6/03 à 20h à l'Abbaye de Neumunster

  • Jean Regnaud

    Jean Regnaud - Scénariste de dessins animés

    Jean Regnaud est scénariste de dessins animés. Il a travaillé sur de nombreuses séries télé (Petit Vampire, Mouk, Ariol…) et a co-écrit (avec Stéphane Bernasconi) le scénario du film Ma Maman est en Amérique. Il est également scénariste de bande dessinée (il a publié 5 albums avec Emile Bravo) et des livres pour enfants (avec Aude Picault).

  • Jones

    Jones - Réalisateurs
    Jones est un collectif  de deux personnes venant de Londres. « Everyone’s Going to Die » est leur premier long métrage. Leur prochain projet intitulé « Firebird » a des similitudes avec leur premier film. C'est l'histoire d'un artiste de cirque qui perd un œil et découvre que personne ne l'aime. 

  • Jordan Bailey-Hoover

     Jordan Bailey-Hoover - Co-productrice

    Jordan Bailey-Hoover a grandi à Atlanta, GA et s’est installée à New-York en 2004. En 2007, elle obtient son diplôme de la Gallatin School of Individualized Studies de l’Université de New-York. Au même moment, elle contribue au film de fin d’études de Daniel Patrick Carbone, « Feral ». De 2007 à 2009, elle travaille pour une organisation internationale des droits de l’homme à New-York. En 2009, elle devient directrice de production sur le film « A Little Closer » qui a été présenté en avant-première au Festival International de Film de Rotterdam. Depuis 2011, elle a occupé différents postes à l’Université de New-York, à la fois à Abu Dhabi et New-York. Jordan Bailey-Hoover est actuellement étudiante en Master d’Administration publique dans la gestion publique et à but non lucratif à la Robert F. Wagner School of Public Service à l’Université de New-York. Elle vit à Brooklyn.

  • Luc Dardenne

    Depuis 1975, Luc et son frère Jean-Pierre Dardenne dirigent l’atelier de production Dérives, qui à ce jour, a produit une soixantaine de documentaires. Dans les années 70, ils réalisent des vidéos d’intervention dans différentes cités ouvrières de Wallonie puis des documentaires sur des questions sociales. Dans les années 90, ils passent à la fiction et fondent la société de production Les Films du Fleuve. Ils connaissent la consécration en 1995 avec « La promesse » remarquée à la Quinzaine des Réalisateurs à Cannes. En 1999 et en 2005, ils remportent la Palme d’Or pour « Rosetta » et « L’enfant ». Leur dernier film, « Le gamin au vélo » (2011), a remporté le Grand Prix du Jury à Cannes et le European Film Award du meilleur scénario et a reçu une nomination pour les Golden Globes. Luc Dardenne tient également un atelier d’écriture à l’Université Libre de Bruxelles et a publié les livres « Au dos de nos images” and “Sur l’Affaire humaine”.

    Luc Dardenne nous fera l’honneur d’une MASTERCLASS exceptionnelle le 1er mars. 

  • Mariana Rondón

    Mariana Rondón - Réalisatrice

    La réalisatrice, scénariste et artiste visuelle Mariana Rondón est née à Barquisimeto, au Venezuela. Après des études de cinéma d'animation à Paris, elle a obtenu son diplôme à l'École du Film EICTV à Cuba. Ses longs métrages « At Midnight and a Half » (2000, coréalisé avec Marité Ugás) et « Cartes postales de Leningrad » (2007) ont été sélectionnés dans de nombreux festivals internationaux et ont remportés des prix  à Tokyo, Rotterdam, Seattle, Biarritz et Sao Paulo. En matière d’art visuel, son installation « You Came With the Breeze » a été exposée à Caracas, Mexico, Puebla, Gijón, Lima, Santiago et à Beijing dans le cadre du projet culturel des Jeux olympiques en 2008. 

  • Marianne Lamour

    Marianne Lamour - Réalisatrice 

    Cinéaste de l’autre bout du monde comme du coin de la rue, Marianne Lamour a su tout au long de sa carrière rendre compte avec humanité et sentiment des vies, des lieux, des phénomènes de société. Une partie de ses travaux l’ont amenée aux quatre coins du monde ; des voyages plus intimistes, variations autour d’un quotidien, l’ont emmenée dans l’univers de la mode, dans le phénomène de société, au cœur du destin des traumatisés crâniens ou encore dans une région orpheline de sa raison économique, avec le portrait mélancolique de la Lorraine et la fermeture de sa dernière mine de fer. 

    La Ruée vers l'Art

  • Marité Ugás

    Marité Ugás - Productrice

    Née à Lima, au Pérou, Marité Ugas fait partie de la première promotion diplômée de l’EICTV (Escuela Internacional de Cine y Televisión) de Cuba. Son premier court-métrage a été récompensé dans le monde entier. « At Midnight and a Half » (2000) a reçu plusieurs prix de la meilleure première oeuvre. « The Kid who lies » (2011) a été projeté en avant-première à la Berlinale-Generation et a reçu de nombreux prix. Elle prépare actuellement son nouveau projet intitulé « Contactee » qui sera tourné en 2015. En tant que productrice, elle a réalisé récemment « Pelo Malo » qui a reçu le Golden Shell au Festival de San Sebastián et 15 autres récompenses.

  • Michel Gondry

    Michel Gondry - Réalisateur

    Né en 1963 à Versailles, Michel Gondry commence sa carrière en réalisant des pubs et des clips. Une de ses premières publicités, « Drugstore » pour Levis (1994), a reçu le Lion d' Or au Festival international de la publicité à Cannes et est listée dans le Livre Guinness des Records comme la publicité la plus récompensée de tous les temps. En 1993, Gondry rencontre la chanteuse Björk avec laquelle il entame une relation professionnelle très fructueuse. Parallèlement, il collabore avec des artistes aussi variés que The White Stripes, The Rolling Stones, Beck, Daft Punk, Chemical Brothers et Paul McCartney. « Human Nature » (2001), le premier long métrage de Gondry, est présenté aux festivals de Cannes et de Sundance. En 2004 sort « Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind », deuxième collaboration de Gondry avec le scénariste Charlie Kaufman. Gondry, Kaufman et Pierre Bismuth remportent l’Oscar du meilleur scénario original pour ce film. Depuis, Gondry a réalisé plusieurs longs métrages : « The Science of Sleep » (2006) ; « Be Kind Rewind » (2008) ; « The Green Hornet » (2011) et « The We and the I » (2012). « L’écume des jours » d’après le roman de Boris Vian, vient d’être nominé trois fois aux Césars 2014.  

  • Pacho Velez

    Pacho Velez - Réalisateur

    Le cinéma de Pacho Velez se trouve à l’intersection de l’ethnographie, du structuralisme et du documentaire politique. Ses films, bien que tournés dans différents pays et utilisant des stratégies formelles distinctes, s’intéressent tous aux réponses locales face aux grands changements provoqués par la mondialisation.

    En 2010, Pacho Velez obtient sa maîtrise au CalArts (California Institute of the Arts). Actuellement, il travaille et enseigne entre New-York et Boston. Il est professeur invité au Bard College, travaille au Harvard Film Study Center et est affilié au Sensory Ethnography Lab. Son  nouveau film « Manakamana » (coréalisé avec Stéphanie Spray, produit par Lucien Castaing-Taylor et Véréna Paravel) a été présenté cet été en avant-première au Festival de Locarno où il  a gagné un Léopard d’Or . Ses précédents films et pièces de théâtres ont été présentés dans le monde entier.

  • Philippe Maynial

    Philippe Maynial - Producteur

    Après 21 ans chez Gaumont dont 10 ans en tant que Directeur des ventes internationales, Philippe Maynial fonde la société Sopadin et lance les Prix Sopadin du Scénario. Via Babylone Productions, il a coproduit deux films pour le cinéma : « El Gusto » réalisé par Safinez Bousbia – l'histoire d'un groupe de musiciens algériens que la guerre d'indépendance a séparé et que la musique réunit 50 ans plus tard – et « La Ruée vers l' Art » réalisé par Marianne Lamour – une enquête sur le marché de l'art contemporain dans le monde. 

    La Ruée vers l'Art

  • Pierre Dulaine

    Pierre Dulaine - Personnage principal

    Pierre Dulaine est né à Jaffa, en Palestine en 1944. En 1948, ses parents ont dû fuir les troubles autour de la création de l'Etat d'Israël. Après 8 mois d'errance à Chypre, en Angleterre et en Irlande, la famille s'est installée à Amman, en Jordanie. En 1956, en raison de la crise du canal de Suez, les parents de Pierre ont dû fuir encore une fois, en laissant tout derrière eux. La famille s'est finalement réinstallée à Birmingham, en Angleterre, où un an plus tard, à 14 ans, Pierre a commencé sa carrière de danseur. A 18 ans, il est devenu danseur professionnel et à 21 ans, il passe trois examens principaux (« Ballroom », « Latin » et « Olde Tyme ») en une seule journée : un exploit qui n'avait jamais été accompli auparavant. Pierre Dulaine devient directeur de croisière sur un navire voyageant de New York aux Îles des Caraïbes. En 1972, « J’ai quitté le bateau de croisière en pensant que je passerais deux semaines de vacances à New York, mais j'ai obtenu un emploi dans une école de danse Arthur Murray et je suis resté ». Pierre est qualifié de « danseur et professeur extraordinaire » par le New York Times et a reçu le Prix Astaire pour le « Meilleur danseur de Broadway ». Il est membre du corps professoral de la School of American Ballet et de la Juilliard School.



  • Rotem Kainan

    Rotem Kainan est né en 1979 à Tel Aviv, Israël. En 2005, il y termine ses études à la « Nissan Nativ Acting Academy ». Il est membre et co-fondateur de la troupe théâtrale « Tziporela », réputée pour des shows hilarants mêlant slapstic, humour absurde, musique et  danse. Il a joué dans trois films pour le cinéma :  « Big Bad Wolves » (2013), « Epilogue » (2012) und « The Exchange » (2011). Pour ce dernier, il a reçu le prix du meilleur acteur au festival de Haifa. 

  • Serge Kaganski

    Serge Kaganski - Journaliste

    Après une adolescence vouée au cinéma et au rock, Serge Kaganski fait des études de droit public et de sciences politiques, puis cofonde en 1986 le magazine Les Inrockuptibles dont il est le correspondant à Los Angeles de 86 à 90. Revenu à Paris, il prend en charge les pages cinéma/littérature du magazine alors mensuel, puis quand Les Inrocks devient hebdomadaire en 95, il en devient le rédacteur-en-chef adjoint, puis le directeur adjoint de la rédaction, responsable du service cinéma. Parallèlement aux Inrocks, Serge Kaganski collabore à l’émission de France Inter Le Masque et la plume de 1995 à 2004, ainsi qu’aux émissions télévisuelles Le Cercle de Minuit sur France 2, Rive droite rive gauche et ça Balance à Paris sur Paris Première, Cinémas sur France 5. Il est l’auteur de plusieurs livres sur le cinéma eta également réalisé de nombreux suppléments DVD pour des films de Gus Van Sant, Jacques Doillon, Michael Moore, Elia Suleiman, Pedro Costa et Marin Karmitz. Depuis 2009, Serge Kaganski est membre du comité éditorial des Inrocks, éditorialiste, chroniqueur et toujours journaliste et critique cinéma de l’hebdomadaire.

    Serge Kaganski va modérer la Masterclass de Luc Dardenne

  • Stephan Lacant

    Stephan Lacant - Réalisateur

    Né en 1972 à Essen, Stephan Lacant étudie d’abord le théâtre, le cinéma et l’audiovisuel à Bochum et Cologne puis part aux Etats-Unis où il fait une formation de réalisateur au Stella Adler Acting Conservatory et à la New York Film Academy. Il passe également par le séminaire d’écriture de films de Frank Daniel, des ateliers de réalisation de Judith Weston, la formation continue de scénaristes de l’IFS à Cologne et le Talent Campus à la Berlinale. Stephan Lacant a réalisé plusieurs courts-métrages et documentaires qui ont été sélectionnés dans divers festivals à travers le monde. Il vit et travaille comme scénariste et réalisateur à Berlin.

  • Uzi Geffenblad

    Uzi Geffenblad - Réalisateur

    Uzi Geffenblad est musicien, compositeur, scénariste, réalisateur et producteur. Il a également étudié la psychologie et les sciences de l'éducation à l'Université de Stockholm. Au début des années 80, il a joué du cor d’harmonie classique dans des orchestres et des théâtres. Depuis 1988, il travaille dans le cinéma et depuis 1991 principalement dans l’animation. De 1998 à 2001, Uzi Geffenblad était le Président élu de la FFAF (L'Association suédoise du cinéma d'animation). Il donne des cours sur le scénario, le son et la production de films d’animation dans différentes écoles en Suède. Avec Lotta Geffenblad, il a réalisé « Among the thorns », « Abricots » et « Aston’s Stones » ainsi que la série en animation image par image « Spot and Splodge ». 

Partenaires

Le gouvernement du Grand Duché du Luxembourg Ville de Luxembourg Centre National de l'Audiovisuel Cinematheque Utopia Utopolis Orange BGL